Consistency is key

Google Keep is one of the most used apps on my phone. I even dare to say that is  more used than some of the  social apps i.e. WhatsApp, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest among others. I am always noting down things. Things I have to do, nice things people have said, songs I want to add onto my playlists et al.

A few minutes ago I went to my keep looking for inspiration. I decided a few days ago that Today, Tuesday 28th March 2017, I would write a blog post. However, I showed up, logged into WordPress and just had a staring contest with the screen. Has it really been this long? I went to keep for inspiration and there was nothing! I mean I have notes from even a couple of hours ago but nothing to do with the kind of things I like to write about.

At the end of last year, I signed up for a Lantern Meet of Poets organized Short Story Writing Lab. One of the very first assignments we were given asked us to talk about our writing processes. I don’t know about you but those are not conversations I have with myself often. I had to sit down and introspect.  I discovered and wrote in my response that I hate being unprepared. In as much as I can pick inspiration from anywhere and write about almost anything, I like to know what I am going to write about and when.

I don’t necessarily look up stats or anything. I just like to mentally prepare that on Tuesday starting at 5pm, I shall start writing an awesome piece on my favourite brands in Uganda. All this is nice and very possible if you decide that it is something that you will be doing every week, or every afternoon or every 5pm. However, for someone like me who likes preparation, one of the worst things that could happen  is a little demon known as inconsistency.

As human beings , we are creatures of habit. We form habits that in a way make it easier for us to accomplish the things we set out to and also be fulfilled. The fact that my last twenty or so notes on Keep have nothing to do with writing/blog posts is disheartening to me. It has me wondering if I haven’t become too busy for my own life. Hahaha, believe it or not, there is such a thing. I have decided to guard my time jealously. I want to be sure that I am not just being busy for the sake of being busy and taking time away from things that matter to me. The things that are the building bricks of the future I am intentional about carving out.

We are the masters of our own brains (and I know how strange that sounds) but we have the power to form or break habits. Some habits are working against the plans/goals that we have set out for ourselves. Others would help push us forward but are missing from our lifestyles. One of the habits that I’m looking to form is consistency. If I choose to involve myself in anything, I want to do it consistently. I have therefore decided that I shall have a blogpost every Tuesday evening and anything that comes up shall have to wait for me and my writing.

Enough about me, let’s talk about you. What habits are you intentional about forming?

7 thoughts on “Consistency is key

  1. That time-carving thing!
    Issa challenge!

    Perhaps, my biggest challenge to date is that now that I know, my decision to shift to that place I want to get to must begin with dealing with the current clutter, as I move toward my goal.

    On some days, dealing with the clutter just seems like it’s taking TOO DAMN “LOWNG”.

    I’m excited that, at the very least, I am on my way there.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘Enough about me, let’s talk about you. What habits are you intentional about forming?’
    Am intentional about reading every article you post here on Tuesday evenings :()

    Like

  3. Sure consistency is the thing, about 41 weeks ago I decided that I will be writing a devotion on Monday morning. In the beginning it was hard but with time it kind of became a habit now Lifeline is like an instinct–a social contract so to speak.

    In the book am currently reading titled “How to Speak so people will listen”, the author Steve Brown talk about a popular saying “Fake it until you make it”. He argues that as far as motivation is concerned, this is true. In the beginning you force it and push yourself but later “the dog will start to hunt.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

