For The Children Uganda Concert : I think I found the stairway to heaven

I first experienced MoRoots early 2013. A friend invited me to her then gig ‘Soul Deep’ which up to now I’m not sure whether it was the name of the band or the name of the evenings, at Jazzville. It was love at first listen. I wanted to take her home with me. I like to tell anyone who cares to listen / read that I have a forever crush on this girl. I am amazed at how much she has accomplished in the past few years both in her music and in her day job. This lady has a day job!!!

MoRoots has this sweet huskiness to her voice, I prefer her cover of Rihanna’s stay to the original, I get goosebumps when she covers ‘aint no sunshine’ and can’t contain myself when she sings her ‘muluyimba’. If you ever get the chance, for those who have never, to listen to experience MoRoots, you might feel your heart racing while being the calmest you’ve been in a very long while (Even I can’t explain this), you might want to laugh and cry at the same time, you will want to run up and hug her yet be afraid to taint the awesomeness that she is at the same time. It is normal!!!

yey momo
Did I mention she slays on the saxophone too? Photo credit: Mukasa Bill 

I have known Sanyu (hahaha, she doesn’t even know I exist) , but yes, I have known Sanyu for about a month now. The first time I saw her, I saw those fiery dreadlocks of hers (they do look like bits of matches on fire) and thought she looked familiar. To this day, I do not know where I know her from. It was my first time at Worship Harvest Kati Kati and she came on to speak a message of encouragement after the music, her voice dripping with passion and that thing, whose name I do not know, that makes you feel like you are accepted, like someone loves you dearly. That is Sanyu’s voice. That is Sanyu’s speaking voice.

My first encounter with her singing voice was about a month ago, still at Worship Harvest Kati Kati, when she and my forever crush MoRoots serenaded us with a song about a man’s cologne and intelligence :). I was sold! At that moment, even if they had said that the ticket #ForTheChildrenUganda concert was the GDP of Uganda, I would have looked for that money. Sanyu and MoRoots sound like they were made to sing together! My Lord!

more sanyu
Look at Sanyu! If only pictures came with sound! Photo credit: Mukasa Bill

Fast forward to Saturday 23rd July, the day of the concert. My accountant was not giving me good news. I was busy trying to convince myself that I did not have to go for the concert. I would not die if I missed it. I could always contribute to that building project when the money came in. At about 5:47pm, I received a text message asking if I still wanted to go. I’d spent the day lazing around, I’d convinced myself I could do without the concert which was supposed to be starting in thirteen minutes and I wasn’t even dressed. Long story short, I grabbed a dress and jumped on a boda boda to Serena.

The opening act was none other than a wonderful vocalist whose stage presence I absolutely love, Kenneth Mugabi performing his two hit songs “Kibon’omu” and “Naki”. I remember being so excited and wanting to tap everyone and kind of give them a heads up of how awesome he was going to be, but I had to behave, plus I did not know any of my neighbours except for the one I’d gone with. As it turned out, there was no need because he was ready to leave after Kenneth saying he felt his money was finished.

And then there were lights!!! And then there was that band!!! That band, which by the way was just a collection of really talented instrumentalists. They are not a band like Switchfoot or Nickelback that plays together all the time, but you wouldn’t know it from the way they played. You wouldn’t know it from how in sync they were with the vocalists and each other. You wouldn’t know it from the heavenly sounds they served that night. Was there anything about that entire concert that wasn’t out of this world? NONE!!!

the band one
The band!!! Photo credit : Mukasa Bill

If I were asked to tell you what genre was played that night,I’d have to say it felt like a fusion of rock, jazz and soul. The most beautiful fusion of rock, jazz and soul ever. The passion in these ladies’ voices made every song sound ten times better. I am a radio presenter and I research my music. I went into this concert knowing almost all of each of their songs, (Hello soundcloud 🙂 )but I was often thrown aback at how different they sounded with the introduction of extra instrumentation and a new voice. Every MoRoots song sounded better with Sanyu on it. Every Sanyu song sounded better with MoRoots on it. Every song sounded better with the band on it. Everyone looked so beautiful with the lights on them.

sanyu and momo 2
So much talent in one picture! Photo credit : Mukasa Bill
sanyu and momo
#Speechless . Photo credit: Mukasa Bill

Things done in the name of charity or for charity are not usually all that. After all,it is a fundraiser, people will not complain if you ask for more money than the product’s worth. However, I feel like I should have paid more for this concert. So many times during the concert, I wanted , if I’d had the money to just go and  throw money at the entire crew Nigerian chief style. I am a lover of live band music. I occasionally attend concerts but truth be told, I have never been part of such a beautiful musical experience. I don’t know if I want to attend any more concerts this year for fear that they will ruin the beauty that was Sanyu and MoRoots.

Thank you so much for not only using your gift for a good cause but for blessing the world with it. Keep singing. Keep performing. Please adopt me 🙂

17 thoughts on “For The Children Uganda Concert : I think I found the stairway to heaven

  1. Guulo! Thanks SO MUCH for these beautiful words. I feel very honored! I LOVE the way you write. I can’t wait to have a conversation with you, Sanyu

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm…but Guulo. You know you can still slash that money Nigerian style as and when you run into any of those guys?? Hint hint!!!
    Nice review. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

