Luga-flow analogies

I have things on my mind that I have to put down. I love my country Uganda. I love rap and hip hop. I love poetry. I love words. Now, I believe some Ugandan musicians are quite talented the same way lil’Wayne is talented. Once you get past the tatoos and swear words, Lil’Wayne actually does have some serious rhymes. Back to my home boys and more recently girls and their music. There are many people who will argue that some of these songs lack lyrical content but of all the genres on the scene, hip-hop, according to me at the moment is the most authentic. There is this ‘luga-flow” rapping in one of our beautuiful languages, luganda. But poetry is poetry, poetry did not start with William Shakespeare and tragedies that made people conclude that it is only true love if you end up dead! Actually, poetry began with Adam, not Levine and not Lambert, Adam, of Adam and Eve, garden of Eden fame.

Recently I was listening to a new artiste and found that I like him ,a lot! Contrary to what you might be thinking, it has nothing to do with his literary prowess. I love his silliness,the ease with which he makes rhymes out of everyday things and they are funny. Actually, his lyrics are now major contributors to our slang dictionary. This just goes to show that people are listening! They are identifying and they are learning. I am not the biggest fan of our education system, I do believe we could use a lot of help but I am a big fan of learning. I did not offer literature as a subject but I have recently come into contact with a group of amazing poets from whom I learn. Our reading list has a lot of the writers who passed on before we were even a country and we use their work to teach ourselves how to write about ourselves. It is no wonder some people may fail to connect because they just do not see how William’s (Shakespeare) issues are their issues. Our system, if I’m to quote a friend whose work I am a fan of, is  “cram or get caned”. It does not encourage creativity,innovation or originality; then we have the audacity to complain about “chinese” products, at least they figured how to duplicate that!

Most luga-flow artistes have known the trick; rap about things everyday people understand like cheesy pick up lines, news headlines and trending fads. We get more lessons on creativity listening to these almost senseless songs than we most cases do seated in a classroom being told how to write like someone else. Dear Mr. whoever is in charge of our curriculum, I think you should take sometime off and listen to some of these flows; maybe then you will appreciate that we need to learn a lot more than integration of fractions and what on earth was modern physics about?

 

2 thoughts on “Luga-flow analogies

Leave a Reply

